Mathematics and Computer Science





Research Groups

Professors Mathematics and Computer Science

Prof. Dr. Frank-Olaf Schreyer, Algebraic Geometry and Computer Algebra
Prof. Dr. Joachim Weickert, Mathematical Image Analysis

Professors Mathematics

Prof. Dr. Christian Bender, Stochastic Processes, Financial Mathematics, Monte-Carlo Methods
Prof. Dr. Michael Bildhauer, Partial Differential Equations, Variational Calculus, Geometric Analysis
Prof. Dr. Simon Brandhorst, Algebraic Surfaces, Quadratic Forms
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Burgeth, Mathematical Didactics: Secondary Level 1
Prof. Dr. Jörg Eschmeier, Operatortheory, Fredholm- und Index-Theory
Prof. Dr. Martin Fuchs, Partial Differential Equations, Variational Calculus, Mathematical Physics
Prof. Dr. Mark Groves, Partial Differential Equations, Water waves
Prof. Dr. Silke Ladel, Mathematical Didactics: Primary Level
Prof. Dr. Anselm Lambert, Mathematical Didactics: Secondary Level 1 and 2
Prof. Dr. Vladimir Lazić, Algebraic and Complex Geometry
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Alfred Louis, Inverse Problems, Computer Tomography
Prof. Dr. Sergej Rjasanow, Numerics of Partial Differential Equations, Boltzmann Equations, Boundary Element Methods
Prof. Dr. Rainer Schulze-Pillot, Number Theory, Arithmetics of Quadratic Forms, Automorphic Forms
Prof. Dr. Thomas Schuster, Inverse Problems and their Industrial Application
Prof. Dr. Roland Speicher, Free Probability Theory, Random Matrices
Prof. Dr. Moritz Weber, Quantum Groups, Free Probability Theory, Operator Algebras
Prof. Dr. Michael Hartz, Operator Theory, Operator Algebras and Complex Analysis
Prof. Dr. Gabriela Weitze-Schmithüsen, Number Theory and Algebra
Prof. Dr. Henryk Zähle, Mathematical Statistics, Insurance Mathematics

Professors Computer Science

Prof. Dr. Sven Apel, Software Engineering and Programming Methodology
Prof. Dr. Michael Backes, Information Security and Cryptography
Prof. Dr. Markus Bläser, Computational Complexity
Prof. Dr. Karl Bringmann, Combinatorics, Computing, and Randomness
Prof. Dr. Cas Cremers, Security and Formal Methods
Prof. Dr. Vera Demberg, Models of Human Language Processing and their Application to Dialogue Systems
Prof. Dr. Jens Dittrich, Information Systems
Prof. Dr. Derek Dreyer, Foundations of Programming
Prof. Dr. Peter Druschel, Distributed Systems
Prof. Dr. Anja Feldmann, Internet Architecture
Prof. Dr. Bernd Finkbeiner, Reactive Systems
Prof. Dr. Josef van Genabith, Multilingual Technologies
Prof. Dr. Krishna Gummadi, Networked Systems
Prof. Dr. Sebastian Hack, Programming
Prof. Dr. Volkhard Helms, Bioinformatics
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thorsten Herfet, Telecommunications
Prof. Dr. Holger Hermanns, Dependable Systems and Software
Prof. Dr. Joachim Hertel, Software
Prof. Dr. Jörg Hoffmann, Foundations of Artificial Intelligence
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Günter Hotz, Emeritus
Prof. Dr. Olga Kalinina, Computational Biology and Applied Algorithmics
Prof. Dr. Andreas Keller, Clinical Bioinformatics
Prof. Dr. Dietrich Klakow, Spoken Language Systems
Prof. Dr. Jana Koehler, Artificial Intelligence
Prof. Dr. Antonio Krüger, Ubiquitous Media Technologies
Prof. Dr. Thomas Lengauer, Emeritus
Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Lenhof, Bioinformatics
Prof. Dr. Peter Loos, Artificial Intelligence
Prof. Wolfgang Maaß, Smart Service Engineering
Prof. Dr. Tobias Marschall, Algorithms for Computational Genomics
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Kurt Mehlhorn, Algorithms and Complexity, Emeritus
Prof. Dr. Joel Ouaknine, Automated verification of real-time, probabilistic, and infinite-state systems
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolfgang J. Paul, Computer Architecture and Parallel Computing
Prof. Dr. Manfred Pinkal, Computational Linguistics
Prof. Dr. Jan Reineke, Real-time and Embedded systems
Prof. Dr. Christian Rossow, System Security
Prof. Dr. Bernt Schiele, Computer Vision and Multimodal Computing
Prof. Dr. Günter Schmidt, Operations Research and Business Informatics
Prof. Dr. Raimund Seidel, Theoretical Computer Science
Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Seidel, Computer Graphics
Prof. Dr. Jörg H. Siekmann, Artificial Intelligence
Prof. Dr. Philipp Slusallek, Agents and Simulated Reality
Prof. Dr. Gert Smolka, Programming Systems
Prof. Dr. Christoph Sorge, Legal Informatics, IT Security and Privacy
Prof. Dr. Jürgen Steimle, Embodied Interaction
Prof. Dr. Christian Theobalt, Graphics, Vision and Video
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang Wahlster, Artificial Intelligence
Prof. Dr. Christoph Weidenbach, Automation of Logic
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Weikum, Databases and Information Systems
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Reinhard Wilhelm, Programming Languages and Compiler Construction
Prof. Dr. Verena Wolf, Modeling and Simulation
Prof. Dr. Andreas Zeller, Software Engineering

Junior Faculty Computer Science

Dr. Jasmin Christian Blanchette, Automated Reasoning, Automatic Theorem Provers, Higher-Order Logic
Dr. Björn Brandenburg, Real-Time Systems
Dr. Andreas Bulling, Perceptual User Interfaces
Dr. Sven Bugiel, System Security
Dr. Renjie Chen, Images and Geometry
Dr. Maria Christakis, Programming Languages and Verification
Dr. Eva Darulová, Programming languages, software verification, approximate computing
Dr. Nico Döttling
Dr. Mario Fritz, Scalable Learning and Perception
Dr. Deepak Garg, Computer security and privacy, formal logic, programming languages
Dr. Helmut Horacek, Multilingual Technologies
Dr. Christian Ikenmeyer, Geometry and Algebra
Dr. Andreas Karrenbauer, Integer Programming, Combinatorial Optimization, Applied and Industrial Discrete Optimization
Dr. Antoine Kaufmann
Dr. Matthias Klusch, Agents and Simulated Reality
Dr. Katharina Krombholz
Dr. Christoph Lenzen, Theory of Distributed Computing
Dr. Jonathan Mace, Cloud Software Systems
Dr. Pauli Miettinen, Algorithmic Data Analysis
Dr. Karol Myszkowski, Computer Graphics
Dr. Stefan Nürnberger, Security and Privacy
Giancarlo Pellegrino,
Dr. Nico Pfeifer
Dr. Gerard Pons-Moll
Dr. Goran Radanovic
Dr. Simon Razniewski, Knowledge Base Construction and Quality
Ph.D. Rishiraj Saha Roy, Question Answering
Dr. Adish Singla, Machine Learning
Dr. Ingmar Steiner, Speech Synthesis and 3D Models of Articulation
Dr. Daria Stepanova, Semantic Data
Dr. Ben Stock, Web Security
Dr. Thomas Sturm, Automated Reasoning and Nonlinear Arithmetic
Dr. Nils Ole Tippenhauer
Dr. Jilles Vreeken, Exploratory Data Analysis
Dr. Georg Zetzsche

Research Groups


Legal Notice
Saarland University
Faculty MI – Mathematics and Computer Science
66123 Saarbruecken

Postal address:
Postfach 15 11 50
66041 Saarbruecken